California vehicle code section 4000 a 1 vc
No Evidence of Current Registration
4000 a 1 vc Fine $280.00 DMV Point 0 (2012)
It is common practice by law enforcement agencies to ask for driver license, vehicle registration and proof of insurance during a traffic violation stop. The reason for asking proof of valid registration is California vehicle code section 4000 a 1 vc . Basically, it is a violation of California vehicle code section 4000 (a) (1) for any person to drive a vehicle on a public road without having the vehicle registered with the DMV. Therefore, a police officer may ask to see a valid registration at the time of a traffic stop.
It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that proof of valid registration is available in the vehicle. If the driver is unable to produce a copy of valid vehicle registration, then the officer will issue a citation for violation of vehicle code section 4000 a 1. However, due to the fact that in most cases the traffic stop is the result of another violation the traffic ticket may also have another violation code as well as 4000 (a) (1) on the violation section of the citation.
Violations of 4000a1 is generally a fix it ticket. In most cases the violation will be dismissed once a proof of valid registration is presented to the court. However, there may be a nominal court fee (approximately $25). In cases where the defendant is unable to produce a valid registration the court will impose a fine in the amount of $280 for violation of 4000a1. It is important to note that violations of 4000a1 does not carry a DMV point.
The following is the California vehicle code section 4000 a 1:
4000. (a) (1) A person shall not drive, move, or leave standing upon a highway, or in an off street public parking facility, any motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, pole or pipe dolly, or logging dolly, unless it is registered and the appropriate fees have been paid
under this code or registered under the permanent trailer identification program, except that an off-highway motor vehicle which displays an identification plate or device issued by the department pursuant to Section 38010 may be driven, moved, or left standing in an off street public parking facility without being registered or paying registration fees.